Yelling

Today is Day 23!  Well, yesterday I was thinking about how I’ve asked God to surprise me for the last few weeks and the results of that.  I guess when I started this challenge, I was expecting a little more excitement.  But I’ve come to realize that some of God’s surprises are very subtle.  They don’t always jump out at you like you would think.  God’s voice may come as a whisper.  You have to listen closely if you want to hear it.  Then again, I think sometimes God sends messages in more of a yelling tone.  Which is definitely cool.  And kind of unexpected.  Sure, it’s not an actual booming voice in the sky, but it’s pretty dang close.

It started out as a normal day.  Whatever that means.  I woke up, took care of Danny till he went down for his nap, and got on the computer.

I just started reading this blog about ukuleles.  Yeah, I know that’s weird.  Anyway, there was a new blog post when I checked my email.  I didn’t actually read it, but there was a link to another blog that I clicked on just for the heck of it.  I don’t even remember whose blog it was, but they were talking about how you should be so passionate about what you do that you want to wake up everyday, and not go to sleep at night.  I thought this was a little extreme, but I did get something out of it.

I started thinking…what am I passionate about?  So often I live like I just don’t have a care in the world.  That’s certainly not true, but then why do my actions tell otherwise?  Nothing is stopping us except ourselves from doing what God calls us to do in life.  So I started making a list of the things I am passionate about.  Ok…so the list got a little long which is why I’m going to put it in a separate post.  Looking at my list, I kept thinking that all these things I want to do will have to wait till I’m an adult.  Or out of college.  Or whatever.

This video that someone posted on facebook totally changed my mind.

I have so much more to say but my brain has had enough of all this thought process for one day.  Ha ha.

-Cat

2 comments on “Yelling

  1. Trina says:

    This makes me very happy. What a God-sighting! I am SO excited that you made that list, and I hope that you’re inspired to act on those things that you’re so passionate about! I’ve been thinking about what the message from that video means for me too. It’s hard to know what to do with passion like this, but I’m sure that as young followers of Christ with such potential at our fingertips (potential to reach out through facebook, BLOGS, etc. potential to surprise adults! potential to give hope to our generation- many of whom feel they have no hope) we will think of something! God is so awesome and powerful!

  2. cathepoet says:

    I know, it’s just awesome! It’s definitely inspiring. Yeah, I know what you mean about not knowing what to do with it. But I think we’re off to a good start. Keep blogging, it’s great :).

Leave a comment